R.I.P. Wes Craven

https://i2.wp.com/pre05.deviantart.net/aad0/th/pre/i/2014/222/5/e/wes_craven_by_bladamerry-d7ukea9.jpg

Wes Craven was more than just a filmmaker to me.  He was a huge inspiration!  Not only did he create some of the most iconic faces in horror, but he made icons that transcend time itself!  2 – 3 decades later, we still all know and love (and fear) the likes of Ghostface and Freddy Krueger.  Along with Giger, he convinced me that my nightmares weren’t just images of a frustrated mind, but a gateway into a morbid imagination.  His work helped to get me interested in horror, as well as want to make something horrific of my own.  From the moment I saw the first Nightmare as a young child, I was hooked on his stuff!  And since then, I’ve been greatly inspired by his eerie works.  While he may be gone, I’ll always be grateful for the awesome contributions he’s made not just to the genre of horror, but its awesome fandom as well.  Thanks for the dark dreams, Wes.  I wouldn’t be nearly the same without you or your creepy creations.

Image by BladaMerry

Leave a Reply

