Ramblings: There’s more to fantasy than knights and castles

https://doctornecrotic.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/62922-417772_1334231127_large.jpg?w=1363&h=740

I know I’ve mentioned it in a previous post, but it still really irks me when I mention “fantasy” and people have a set picture in mind.  The image that springs to mind is a faux-Tolkien world that’s vaguely like Medieval Europe (while countless other continents lie in the distance and aren’t focused on.)  That’s all well and good, since the LotR books and films as well as the Dungeons & Dragons roleplaying game are indeed quite popular.  However, my interests tend to lean towards science-fantasy (a la retrofuturism, Thundarr/He-Man, and Star Wars) as well as modern-fantasy as well.  Something about applying futurism (or modernity) to magick and monsters appeals for some reason, that setting it in a specified era of the past just won’t.  And even then, people tend to think very troperiffic urban fantasy when they think of what I’m talking about.  Ya know, there’s a big masquerade where the supernatural hides behind some veil, locations are almost always some real world city largely unaffected by the magical, there’s probably some romantic sub-plot involving said supernatural or something.  All in all, I’m not a fan.  I want adventure, mystery, and what have you with a modern twist.  Give me bizarre magic-tech that looks much like what we have now (or at least within post-WWII – post-Cold War time frame.)  Give me molemen bankers who live in the same vaults they store stuff in, dwarves who have a monopoly on a pub franchise chain, dark warlocks firing enchanted bullets from an uzi, weird stuff like that!  See, that’s the kind of weird stuff I like.  For reference on what I’m talking about, read “Nightside” and “Perdido Street Station”

Image Source: Kentaro Kanamoto

2 thoughts on “Ramblings: There’s more to fantasy than knights and castles

  1. Coming from people who write about Fantasy, but specialize on Medieval fantasy – we ust admit that you are absolutely right.

    Fantasy, as a theme, is about the improbable, the imaginary and possibly non-realistic, not about knights, castles and dragons – at least – not just about that.

    Good post man!

  2. This is why I like to use the term “Imaginative Fiction” instead of “Fantasy Fiction”, although I freely admit that when write something imaginative, fictional and medieval-flavored I’ll use the term because it gets the point across in a nutshell.

Leave a Reply

